I can't say I'm surprised at all I predicted this outcome the moment the development contract when to one of the most incompetent studios I've ever known. Delight Works, I will blame Bushiroad for contracting them, probably due to being one of the cheapest. I will blame the "devs" for being cowboys and not properly qualified to be accepting jobs of this magnitude.
They had their chance to give us something different now how about they instead give us the 3DS games. All they need is a third party or Bushiroad themselves to handle distribution and localisation as Furyu have been quite clear that for them trying to reach to the western market is too much work.
Now with that said onwards todays post.
We begin with the COTD and from there shall move on to the stream reveals.
Omniscience Dragon, Kirtimukha
[AUTO] (VC): Success 25000
[AUTO] (VC): When this Unit becomes Successful, choose up to 4 cards from your Drop Zone, place them on the bottom of your Deck in any order. If you place 4, choose 1 of your Rearguards, during that turn, it gains Power+4000, and when that turn ends, draw 1 card, and Retire that Unit.
It's a solid R. Great Nature draws alot and their deck can wear thin easily. This card offers one of the biggest benefits of Legion in it's ability to return any 4 cards to the deck. After that it does standard Great Nature things, which really is all it needs to do.
It passes inspection. Though I am curious what exactly is going on with that art? It's not horrible just bizarre.
!!!DIMENSION POLICE TIME!!!
I'm going to work my way up in rarity from lowest to highest.Enigman Blanc
[AUTO](RC) GB2:[Put this unit into your soul] At the beginning of your attack step, you may pay the cost. If you do, Counter Charge (1)]
Burst-[ACT](Soul):[Put this card into your drop zone] If your vanguard's [Power] is 10000 or greater, choose one of your vanguards with the burst ability, it gets [Power]+4000 until the end of turn. If your vanguard's [Power] is 35000 or greater, choose one of your vanguards, and it gets [Power]+4000 until the end of turn.
Splash comes to mind here. Enigman by name but universal like Cosmic Heroes.
Countercharge is something we've been in need of, while I'm not a fan of -1 for that it is important we have that it.
Besides which, once in the soul this card has further use. Soulblasting itself will power the pump. A universal card, highly splash-able and highly appreciated.
Enigman GigastormBurst-[AUTO](VC) GB2:At the beginning of your attack step, if this unit's [Power] is 15000 or greater, Soul Charge (1). Then, if the [Power] is 20000 or greater, until the end of turn, all of your units with "Enigman" in its card name in the front row get [Power]+4000.
[AUTO](VC)[CB1 SB1] When this unit's attack hits a vanguard, you may pay the cost. If you do, choose one of your rear-guards with "Enigman" in its card name, and increase that unit's [Power] by this unit's [Power] until the end of turn.
Turn 3 pressure whether you went first or second. Pump this guy up in crease the pressure and likewise increase the reward. The Enigman deck like rush out the gate and this card promotes this, while simultaneously having skills for the later game. Albeit being GenBreak2 it's a skill you hope you never have to use. I will argue this card is better than Enigman Storm the moment you hit Grade 3, this card provides pressure so long as you have a board, it doesn't matter if you've got a Grade 1 Laurel in board so much as with Storm the threat of more huge attackers if this hits means it provides a strong incentive to guard when Grade 3's on Turn 3 (5 of the game) usually are allowed to hit with minimal resistance. He probably isn't going to hit but I'm fine with drawing out what cards where I can prior to stride to despite being an on-hit I accept it.
The GenBreak 2 skill however is admittedly disappointing. Being an R puts this lower than anticipated but if he were a RR I'd be complaining, as he is a R he fits the job of what he needs to do. I will run him as 3 of or 4 of depending on if I keep 4 Tornado's or take him down to 3. I will be running Storm at 1 since I can search for him. which is actually my biggest gripe with this card, if it was also treated as Enimgan Storm while the Vanguard or in soul this card would be amazing for Tornado and the two would be wonderful in combination with each other, but as this card is it misses out on that potential and that's unfortunate.
Enigman HelmBurst-[AUTO] GB2:When this unit is placed on (RC), if your vanguard's [Power] is 15000 or greater, this unit gets [Power]+4000 until the end of turn, if your vanguard's [Power] is 30000 or greater, choose one of your vanguards, and until the end of turn, that unit gets "[AUTO](VC):[Choose one of your rear-guards with the burst ability, and put it into your soul] When an opponent's unit is put into the (GC), you may pay the cost. If you do, your opponent chooses one of his or her grade 3 or less guardians, and retire it.".
Timing is of the essence with this one and even then I feel this is translated wrong.
I am certain this card gives power to the vanguard but there's no mention of that here. I'm not saying it doesn't build it's own power but I'm certain this gives power to the vanguard, now if that is power ONLY to the vanguard or to both itself and vanguard I'm unsure but I am certain power is given to the vanguard.
What's important is DP has it's own take on Spike Brother's Mayhem Tiger which is one of the most devastating cards I've faced in recent times. As with the aforementioned you can keep paying the cost so long you have the assets available to do so. And it's use drives home the chances of your vanguard hitting, G-Gaurdians are safe but what you may not as aware of is that Perfect Guards are as well.
A bit of ruling trivia for you, when a perfect guard is placed on Guardian Circle it's ability goes into stand by, forcefully retiring it does not negate it's ability unless otherwise stated. Even when the Perfect Guard has been retired, the skill it introduced into the game will still enter resolution thus successfully nullifying an attack.
Another important thing to note is guards are placed into Guardian Circle individually, a bad habit that has been developed en mass over time is declaring all guard at the same time, according to the games rules this can not be done. Guardians Calls are performed one at a time unless called as part of a skill resolution so a future note for games, if you're opponent is placing more than one guard as a time you are entitled to call them out on it and even request a judge if need be. Previously you may consider such an action to be rule sharking but with these recent abilities and their relative interactions this bit of rule trivia is no longer a small insignificant detail and in fact now carries great weight for it is of vital importance to understand to be capable of using this card as it was intended.
Commander Laurel D
Burst-[ACT](VC):[Choose four of your rear-guards, and [Rest] them] If this unit's [Power] is 20000 or greater, until the end of turn, this unit gets "[AUTO](VC)[1/Turn]:When this unit's attack hits a vanguard, [Stand] this unit.". Then, if the [Power] is 25000 or greater, it gets "[AUTO](VC)[1/Turn]:At the end of battle that this unit attacked, if the attack did not hit, choose up to four of your rear-guards, and [Stand] them.".
STAND TO ATTENTION! The Commander is in the building.
Wielding the lowest base power ever recorded on a stride and individually lack luster but for that reason is the perfect embodiment of what makes Dimension Police.
His Ability is the clan personified. He won't make the show alone he is but a blank canvas to be painted with skill as gifted from elsewhere and the support of Enigman Helm and Operator Girl, Rinka highlight this more than any others. True to form the Commander orders that the Vanguard lead the charge. And the profit for that hitting is you swing again theoretically gaining a huge advantage. But now we're restricted, Grade 1 Laurel allowed for the Vanguard to stand after any hit this card, perhaps being more fair only profit from hitting a Vanguard. So I know what deck I'm NOT using this against (Hello Glendios)
As he is, Laruel D is a strong opening stride and that is where I would place emphasis on him. As the game progresses other stride options are just objectively better but the Commander now gives a decent and versatile opener that isn't just X-Tiger it's an option, and not a bad one either, not amazing, but not bad. Can it put DP over into mainstream relevance again? Not really.
For Better or worse the clan's support has been rather fair in this set, and with very few cards left that we don't know I feel that's going to be the final thoughts, maybe my opinion when it comes to general overview will change but currently Fair seems to be the correct word to some up how I feel about this wave of support.