Monday, 3 August 2015

COTW (W/C: 03/08/2015): Gigantech Ringer

This week I'm handing over the blog to an online freind from the Cardfight Vangaurd Wikia, Brave Buddy Mimmo"Faker" To reflect the different writer I'll be posting Mimmo's text in a differing font to the Ariel font that I typically use. Mimmo specializes in the Gold Paladin clan, maximizing efficiency of chaining combos over raw power, and maximising number of attacks as opposed to focus on criticals. His units do all the work without needing the extra damage from a critical trigger to push them towards the win. An approach and style that serves him well and makes Mimmo a more formidable force than many would initially think.

---

Todays card of the day is a unit from my personal favorite and main clan Gold Paladin. Now normally one would expect some powerful grade 3 or superior caller or even a stride to be the topic of a discussion for this clan but I am going to go with a  unit that is far more key to the clan and something that can be used in almost any and if not almost every build of Gold Paladin that well at least makes use of Gold Paladins main ability and this would be a  simple little new Trigger


Gigantech Ringer
Grade 0 power 4000 stand trigger
skill:
[AUTO](RC) Generation Break 1 (This ability is active if you have one or more face up G units in total on your (VC) or G zone):[Put this unit on the top of your deck] When your other unit is placed on (RC) from your deck, you may pay the cost. If you do, shuffle your deck, draw a card, and that unit gets [Power]+5000 until the end of turn.


Yes i am reviewing Gold Paladin(GP)'s new gb1 stand trigger.
Now why would we focus on such a unit? Well, before I answer that let us break down its skill.

"[AUTO](RC) Generation Break 1 (This ability is active if you have one or more face up G units in total on your (VC) or G zone):[Put this unit on the top of your deck] When your other unit is placed on (RC) from your deck, you may pay the cost."

Basic enough right?  GB1 AUTO when another card is placed on RC you can send this unit to the top of the deck right? But wait there is more this card doesn't specify where on the field the other unit must be placed and what many people don't realize is that according to vanguards rules that have been in effect since season 3 due to how break rides work if the card that triggers this effect is being placed on the same circle as Ringer, Ringer can still activate before being sent to the drop zone. Don't believe me? This has already been proven correct before in situations in season 3 with Blaster Dark Revenger and Barrier Troop Revenger Dorint as well as Blaster Blade Liberator and White Rainbow Liberator Balan.

So this means that should you use a Ringer as an attacker in front of a 7000 power booster to poke an opponents vanguard for 11000 then use a card like Holy Mage, Pwyl, GPs Amber clone to call  a new unit over Ringer for attack like lets say Gurguit you can place Gurguit over the rested Ringer and use the Ringers skill to increase Gurguits power to 16000- as well as draw a  card when calling over another unit, in the past was normally just a  wash now it can be an actual +1 and remember all this can be done before the Vanguard attack, and you've just sent a Stand Trigger back to the deck while having a 16000 power Rearguard that can extremely benefit from you drive checking a stand trigger.

The point behind this example was to show how powerful this simple trigger is it can be the difference between a win or  a loss your trading in a 10000 shield to try and make your opponent lose 5000 more shield while drawing 1 card from the top of your deck that can either have no shield or up to 10000 shield or even be a  perfect guard all at the same time and that draw 1 in the middle of the battle phase can allow units such as good old Lop Ear Shooter and White Hare in the Moon's Shadow, Pellinore to not hurt ones hand so much. It is a risk but then again this is gold paladins if your not willing to bet on those units you've picked out for your deck you may be using the wrong clan.

Now as for maybe one of this cards main and probably only drawback, you cannot do the strategy of calling over it and simultaneously using his skill if the superior call being performed only can be used on an open RC as Ringer's spot was filled when activating the call skill and wouldn't allow an open RC based call but calls from cards like Gurguit, Pwyl, Lop Ear Shooter, the Prominence legions act skills and Mithril Ezel still allow such a call so there are many ways for this unit to make or break a game. I will now go on to give you all a deck profile that utilizes ringer that has been working well for me as of late...

---

But in typical fashion for this blog, when there is a Deck to be posted, I will withhold that, until the latter parts of the week.