Saturday, 10 January 2015

V Discussion: Ruling Busters

There seems to be controversy and confusion in the air. Well, let's dig in.



The controversy of which I speak originates from the following source: http://cfvnewbies.blogspot.com.ar/2015/01/rulings-brawler-big-bang-slash-buster.html

The blogger claims to have received an email from Bushiroad stating the following:

Date: Mon, 22 Dec 2014 10:36:56 +0800
Subject: Re: {sg_support:10808} Issues Regarding Brawler Cards
From: sg_helper1@bushiroad-gp.com
To: tin_chong@hotmail.com
CC: sg_support@bushiroad-gp.com

Dear Justin,

Thank you very much for your email.

With regard to your queries,

1) Brawler, Big Bang Slash Dragon will still get the power boost even when the attack to the Vanguard is successfully blocked but not the attack to the rearguard. It will still only get 3000 power boost to its attack as that attack is considered a single attack only.

2) Brawler, Big Bang Slash Buster will be the same as Brawler, Big Bang Slash Dragon and get 3000 power boost only.

Please do not hesitate to contact us shall you have any other inquiries.

Best Regards,
Bushiroad SEA Support Team

---

According to this, Brawler, Big Bang Slash Buster can not gain stack his power gains, even in the situation of Brawler, Big Bang Knuckle Buster or Brawler, Big Bang Knuckle Dragon hits multiple targets. I have problems with this interpretation, and I intend to go over these point by point, so lets get busting.

IT'S TIME FOR BUSTER!

First things first, focusing on the skills of all cards mentioned in the email above.

[ACT](VC): Legion20000 "Brawler, Big Bang Slash Buster"(If your opponent's vanguard is grade 3 or greater, this unit may return four cards from your drop zone into your deck once, search your deck for the specified card, and Legion)
[ACT](VC):[Counter Blast (1) & Choose a card with "Big Bang Knuckle" in its card name from your hand, and put it into your soul] If this unit is Legion, until end of turn, this unit gets [Power]+5000 and "[CONT](VC):When this unit would choose a unit to attack, choose four of your opponent's units instead, and this unit battles all of the chosen units in one attack.".
[CONT](VC):If you have a card named "Brawler, Big Bang Knuckle Dragon" in your soul, this unit gets [Power]+2000.
In the case of Brawler Big Bang Knuckle Buster's Legioned [ACT] skill. may be used more than once, however the only benefit would be stacking +5000's. The additional skill gained from using the ACT does NOT stack, so you can only ever attack up to four targets at once. If the opponent doesn't have four units you can target, you simply target as many as you can. While these four units are attacks, this only counts as one attack. And this is where I believe the ruling above goes wrong. It focuses on the aspect of one attack. When the focus should be on how many targets are HIT by that attack. As for why, let's fer now to Brawler, Big Bang Slash Dragon.

[AUTO](RC):When this unit attacks, if you have a vanguard with "Big Bang Knuckle" in its card name, this unit gets [Power]+2000 until end of that battle.
[AUTO](RC):When your vanguard with "Big Bang Knuckle" in its card name's attack hits, this unit gets [Power]+3000 until end of turn.
Aside from being an 11k beater, what I feel needs to be focused on here is the wording of the second AUTO skill.

"[AUTO](RC):When your vanguard with "Big Bang Knuckle" in its card name's attack hits, this unit gets [Power]+3000 until end of turn."

Sure your Vanguard only has one attack, but how many HITS is what's important.
1 Hit = +3000, 2 = +6000, 3 = +9000, and lastly, 4 = +12000. Simple right? Well that's where the email is relevant, according to the email quoted, this is wrong. Well I'm here to prove that it's the email that is wrong.

Doing a time warp back to Breaker of Limits, and a ruling involving the following card.
Lightning of Hope, Helena
[AUTO](RC): [Choose a card from your hand, and discard it] When an attack hits during the battle that this unit boosted, you may pay the cost. If you do, draw a card.

Now, let's combine this with the boss of the deck at the time.

[ACT](VC) Limit Break 4 (This ability is active if you have four or more damage):[Counter Blast (3)] Until end of turn, this unit gets [Power]+2000 and "[CONT](VC):This unit battles every unit in your opponent's front row in one attack.".
[CONT](VC/RC):If you have a non-«Narukami» vanguard or rear-guard, this unit gets [Power]-2000.
Using the Limit Break of Dragonic Kaiser Vermillion, while boosting with Lightning of Hope, Helena. There was confusion as to how 3 attacks would affect the skill of Lightning of Hope, Helena.

Bushiroad released the following explanation.

"since 3 opponent's units were hit, you may activate Helena's ability up to 3 times.
This is due to the fact that an [AUTO] ability activates once whenever the conditions are met, and Vermillion's attack can hit 3 units.
Simply put, you can activate Helena's ability the number of times Vermillion's attack actually hits a unit.
One important point to take note is that the resolution must be carried out one card at a time. Do not discard 3 cards and draw 3 cards at one go!
Wrong - Drop 3 cards from hand, draw 3 cards.
Correct - Drop 1 card, draw 1 card, repeat."
The main point of importance here is that Lightning of Hope, Helena activates for each instance in which an attack his.
Now reading Vermillion's skill wording:
"[CONT](VC):This unit battles every unit in your opponent's front row in one attack.".
The wording of "one attack" is clearly present.
Additionally, the following applies for Vermillion.
  • Vermillion attacks 3 unit at one time.
  • Attacked units cannot intercept.
  • Twin Drive only once.
  • Each target must be guarded separately, this also applies for perfect guards,

Let's return to the Brawlers for a moment and bring up the first Big Bang pair, since Brawler, Big Bang Slash Dragon is also a subject of focus within the ruling.

Let's focus on Slash first.
[AUTO](RC):When your vanguard with "Brawler" in its card name's attack hits, this unit gets [Power]+3000 until end of turn.
Again, the wording is that the attack hits, next step is comparison, so bring back Helena:
[AUTO](RC): [Choose a card from your hand, and discard it] When an attack hits during the battle that this unit boosted, you may pay the cost. If you do, draw a card.
The activation condition is the same.
Remember the ruling above?
"since 3 opponent's units were hit, you may activate Helena's ability up to 3 times."
So by this logic, if Big Bang Knuckle Buster hit four targets, both Slash Dragon and Slash Buster would each gain 12000 power, not only 3000. The key thing to consider isn't how many attacks, because in all examples, you are only attacking once, what's important is how many hits.
---
I've taken the long way round to reach my point, but evidence was important for this point.
Either the "email" that has sparked confusion and controversy is poorly worded, or fake. I don't want to say it's flat out wrong if it is a legitimate email, but English Bushiroad aren't exactly well known for having good English.
If this "email" is real, and it's wording is indeed perceived as correct, then the ruling of email itself is wrong. And I will say this as my verdict with absolute certainty, even if the official word opposes this verdict.
Even official bodies can be wrong at times, but for Bushiroad to contradict their own earlier ruling doesn't make sense.
---
If there is still doubt, then let's say this.
Requoting a section of the email.
"that attack is considered a single attack only."
This is the exact section responsible for the confusion, but this can be overcome using simple common sense. If Vermilion and the Brawler Knuckles' attacks obeyed this clause then the following wouldn't work.
  • "Each target must be guarded separately, this also applies for perfect guards"
For if we acknowledge this clause within the "email" as correct, you're guards would cover each target. And that would render the following card completely pointless.


In among all that text, there is one skill relevant to what I've discussed here.
[ACT](VC):[Counter Blast (3)] Until end of turn, this unit battles all of your opponent's units in one attack.

And yes, that wording is back in play here to.

So yeah, the "email" ignores not only an earlier ruling, but it's poor wording would ignore guarding mechanics and that certainly can't be right.

So yeah, this is a one off case study over something causing some confusion and controversy right now. Bushiroad has had additional emails sent to try and clarify this once and for all, and I'll update this further once responses have been received, although honestly speaking, contacting them via Bushiroad.fm would probably yield a more immediate response.

UPDATE: Forgot to inclide this evidence from the Japanese COTD promotion for the Busters when they were revealed in the build up to BT17, Blazing Perdition. 

本日紹介するのは、最新ブースターパック『煉獄焔舞』より、石田ナオキが修行を経て手にした新たな《なるかみ》の切り札!「喧嘩屋 ビックバンナックル・ドラゴン」のクロスライド能力を持つレギオンだ!!
ソウルに「ビックバンナックル・ドラゴン」があれば、単体パワー13000。レギオン成立で22000に!
さらにレギオンスキル発動でパワー+5000したうえで相手ユニット4体と同時バトルが可能!! コストで手札の「ビッグバンナックル・ドラゴン」をソウルに置けば、その時点からパワーが上がる! 一気に相手ユニットをなぎ払おう!
そしてレギオンメイトの「ビックバンスラッシュ・バスター」は、「ビッグバンナックル・バスター」のスキルを使えば、パワーは最大23000まで上昇する!
収録8クランにすべてに新レギオンが登場する『煉獄焔舞』は8月8日発売だ!! 

Today we're introducing the newest "Narukami" Trump Cards that were the result of Ishida Naoki's training, from the latest Booster Pack, "Blazing Perdition"! It's a new Legion that are a Hamburger-Time of "Brawler, Big Bang Knuckle Dragon"!!
If you have "Big Bang Knuckle Dragon" in your Soul, its base Power is 13,000, which means if it Legion Attacks, it'll have 22,000 Power!
And if you activate its Legion Skill, it gains 5000 Power and can attack 4 enemy units at the same time!! And its cost is merely placing a "Big Bang Knuckle" like "Big Bang Knuckle Dragon" into your Soul, and if you do, you can jack this card's Power up! And then instantly cut down a ton of your opponent's Units at once!
And its Legion Mate, "Big Bang Sash Buster", when you use the skill of "Big Bang Knuckle Buster", will have its Power rise to 23,000!
"Blazing Perdition", which comes out August 8th, includes a new Legion for each of the 8 clans included inside!

And THAT my friends, is what we call conclusive evidence.